Frozen – A New Way of Loving the Snow! (Like I Do)

Watching this movie reminds me back to the times when I was walking around at the Garden Park of SIUe in the United States of America. I walked around the Garden Park of the campus in Winter 2013. A friend of mine from Morocco, Mohammed Chakir, accompanied me there. What a nice memory to have. And, by the way, let me back to this movie. Frozen. I love it! No words can replace how I feel after watching this movie, except, “wonderful”! Not only because I like snow, but it is also more because of I am impressed by looking at how this movie leaves a message about the warm of heart, the love we have, that can break the coldest heart. Sounds like nice, right? It is.

From Left to Right: Elsa, Kristoff, Olaf, Sven, Anna, and Hans.

When I watched the two kids playing around in the palace (as always, princess lives in a palace), I could easily notice that the two lovely kids are the main characters of the movie. Elsa played the character as the first daughter who seemed to have the ability to lead. Perfection always seems to go to her. However, later on in the story Elsa seemed to have difficulties in managing her power- to have the ability to magically create snow from her tiny cute little fingers. Elsa is born to be pretty. Similarly, Anna is also pretty. Both of them have sort of interesting characters to see. Anna has a cheerful character. I would say that she is warmer than Elsa in the way she interacts with people around her. As the story goes, I can see that these two characters are strongly presented in the movie.

Hans and Kristoff are two male characters in this movie. First of all, I did think that Hans was such a noble man who can treat woman like a lady. Meanwhile, Kristoff is a character that is presented as a lower status I would say and he also has a weird communication style with that animal, Sven. Hans has a horse, but his horse did not play too much in the movie.

Another character that is shown in the movie is Olaf. This character is basically having no gender. It is a snow man. However, from its movie, I can say that, yes, he is a man, although from its appearance it is totally not a man. (Sorry, I am joking). Olaf is a cute character anyway. He seems to be always cheerful and always saying positive things around him for different occasions that he met. I think that the presence of Olaf in the movie strengthens the way this movie is presented to the viewers.

In terms of background, I admit that it must be a place somewhere in the Up North of Earth, closer to Canada or may be Russia. All places are basically warm, as the story is told, and in the winter things happen to be worst. Thanks to Elsa. However, all the winter-looking background, I think, helps the viewers to feel a strong emotional condition of Elsa. Her power to manifest the snow seems to be unbeatable. At that point when Elsa has no power to control her emotion for knowing how her power killed Anna, she became helpless and weak. The sadness she bear deep inside her began stronger and stronger. All these things were lies that were outspoken by Hans, a wicked man. Anna came in and sacrifices herself for her sister, Elsa. Soon after that, magical condition happens. The ice is melt with love. Love is not always related to kissing. This is the first Disney movie ever that does not show kiss is the key solution.

Things that I can learn from this movie are:

  1. Love of your siblings must be stronger than the love to everybody else. Your siblings  know you more than anyone else. Even though you had lived separately, siblings are siblings, born from the same parents.
  2. Distance makes no difference for love. If deep in your heart you love the person, like Anna to Elsa, you would have felt tremendous feeling to see the face of the person you love after times and times you have not met together.
  3. Love means sacrificing your ego. You sacrifice your needs to make people you care the most happy than yourself. And, I really know how this one feels. You have nothing in your life to be proud of, but you sincerely know that you had contributed good things for a life of people who love you and whom you love.

Finally, I recommend this movie to be watched by children and, mostly, teenager. Sometimes, I do feel like Elsa. Now, I can sing clearly, “Let It Go…! Let It Go..!”

“It is okay to feel the anger in you when you are down to nothing, but soon after that, when you accept all conditions and be brave to yourself to know who you are, nothing else matters. It is you yourself who needs love, and the person who loves you, might not be that far in your life” – SSS, 30 January 2014.

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

