The Beauty I feel when I am being a Muslim (March 7, 2012)

Well, people may have different point of view in terms of how they believe in something, especially believing in something known as “God”. I was actually born from a family where my parents adore Islam and Allah SWT.  I am an Indonesian as well. Yes, what a big deal to be an Indonesian, right? Living in a country in which people all over the world view Indonesia as a Muslim country, but there is something I need to mention: we actually do not view our country as such. However, as an individual who is living and staying in Indonesia, as I can tell, what they say about Indonesia is correct. A lot of people in Indonesia are Muslims and they believe in Allah SWT. The major problem that causes such ‘dispute’ among cultural experts, political figures, or even scientists all-over the world in viewing Indonesia, especially those that are seen in the news, merely due to the multiculturalism that Indonesia has. I believe that you will agree with me that each child who is born into this earth would have his or her point of view when he or she is growing up as someone. Looking at the world around him or her will be the way the child learns or understands why such and such chaos might happen.

Now, I currently stay and live in the United States, pursuing my degree in English. The institution in which I am actively enrolling as a student is Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. I can tell you, this is a nice and good university for me. Not only to study but also to live are things that make this campus interesting. I have not often traveled around the United States to see how beautiful or great other universities in the United States. However, I can tell one thing, feeling like being myself in a foreign country is such a huge thing to have. People always say, “be yourself”; however, sometimes, what I see and perceive is that some people tend to be someone else in order to feel secure within him or herself and with other people around him or her. This is not my principle. Wherever I go, I always be myself. That “myself” is being a Muslim. A friend of mine who is living in Indonesia asked me this questions: “Is that difficult to be a Muslim in the United States?”

Honestly, to answer such question is such a great task for me to do. The basic thing, I mean, for that answer, is to say, “no”. It is not difficult. I was just wondering why such question came to me as if I had a difficult times. Perhaps, what the person who was asking had in mind was that I will have terrible life in the United States. Then, I think, this post might be a way for me to write about this. I divide the view for this thing into two aspects. The aspects are before I came to the United States and while I am staying in the United States.

To be honest, when I was still in Indonesia or before I came to the United States, I viewed the United States as such a “huge and developed” country, or, roughly, an advanced one. Actually, I did not know the person who used this term before, but I am sure that this person might be an educated one. Then, I searched for information about the United States. Again and again, as I could also see as well as in my country, too; I often heard and read cases like racism, Muslims under-attack by some people, suicide, murders, or even so many other crimes that happened in the United States. I thought that that was what the news was meant to be. No wonder why I was a “little nervous” to come to the United States. I realize that I was a Muslim, but will the cops capture me as a terrorist while, in fact, I had nothing to do with that? There were many questions came over my head for several days before my departure to the United States. It was exactly at the end of August 2011, I flew from Narita to Los Angeles. That was indeed my first time flight for the international one. “What a great step!”, I said to myself.

Days and days passed so quickly. After living for several months in the United States, but, of course, in a small town, I had experienced having lots of types of foods, friendly faces of American students as well as faces of international students at SIUe, and welcoming faculty and staffs. At this stage, I did not feel so many problems with my religious identity as a Muslim, though I actually stay in an area in which many people are mostly Christian. In spite of having this difference, I honestly can tell that I do not have problems with any other personal matters. I could still do may five-times prayers a day and I could do Friday prayer with Muslim friends from other countries, like Turkey, the US,Nepal, and India. Then, if I relate this perspective with the question above, I would say, “There is a beauty I feel when I am being a Muslim”. Therefore, the answer of the question above is “no”. However, this is only in my perspective. Perspectives of other people might be different than mine anyway.

What about the beauty? What is that?

People here, especially the young ones, they get drunk by consuming alcohol, though not so many of them. Sometimes, they feel “cool” when they get drunk. For me, that never solves problems. That is just a matter of life-style. As a Muslim, I would not want to consume any alcoholic drink. And, until now, I am still fine. The sad part is that I do not have lost of “good friends” to have because of being “different with surroundings”. By avoiding consuming alcoholic drinks, I am saving myself and my money as well. I do not drive in the US; therefore, this would be a perfect one for me to stay healthy. Walking an hour a day is a good thing to do in order to avoid having the problem of heart attack. So, at this point, the beauty is like a king. I could control myself. It has been taught in Islam that I should control myself, not other stuffs control me over myself, especially over my mind.

Then, who does not like having sex? Sex is fun. Is that true? Well, that’s true. As a Muslim, it is “harram” or prohibited to have sex with opposite gender before getting married. I am sure I could see that there are a lot of sexy girls out there, wanting to be touched and grabbed their “pants”, but, that does not make me as a “man” if I do that. Feeling sexy is okay, but showing the sexiness to other people is another case. I have been taught in Islam that I may only touch a woman when I marry her. If I do not marry her, then, I am not allowed to touch her. To appreciate the prettiness of a girl is okay, but to possess that prettiness without good “way” is not acceptable in any way. There goes a reason of why Muslim women should wear hijjab or veil in order to cover their hair. Women are such beautiful creatures that God has created for men. Men have sexual desire to women. Therefore, if women could not control their appearances, or being sexy all the time, then, the problem that could happen is that the men will view women in the “sexual eyes”. No wonder why there are so many women become victims of raping. In Islam, this is bad because both will be equally guilty. At this point, the beauty that I feel when I am being a Muslim is that I have control over me. People may wear anything they want, but it is me who has responsibility to control things that I have seen. If the appearance that I have seen is beautiful, I would say, “Masya Allah” (Praise the Lord); if the appearance of a woman whom I have seen is bad, I would say, “Astaghfirullah” (Oh Allah, please forgive me). Meanwhile, if I have seen women who are almost “naked” in front of me, I would say, “Astaghfirullah” (the same as above) and “Naudzubillah” (Oh God, please forgive me). At last, who would want to be naked in public? They may want to do that, but as an educated person, I will never want to perform myself “naked” or even a half “naked” in public. When I am naked, the image of my body will be public consumption. This is the core of why women should wear hijjab. They are created in such a beautiful body. It is the times for women to be protected from sexual abuse. I think, Islam has this perspective, which is protecting women from such matters and protecting the men from doing such matters.

What about food? Well, this one is also controversial among other people in the US. I do not eat pork or pig. Eating meat that contains pork is a sin. Then, how if I eat something, due to my hungriness (no other foods to eat) and eat that food without knowing the ingredients of the foods? Let’s say, the food contained pork and I did not know that? If there are no other foods, (remember, no other foods), I can still eat it. If there are still many options of food, then, eating pork is a last choice and even become “harram”. Islam is making things easier for me. I could stay healthy, and in the same time, I could notice things that I want to eat with things that I may not eat. I am the king of my life. I would not easily follow what other people do just because those things look fun to eat. To me, this is a big discipline. Islam teaches me to have my own freedom.

All in all, as a Muslim, I would say that having good discipline and good responsibility in terms of things that I see, drink, or eat are the very basic things to do as a Muslim. For some people, it is hard. However, it is not as hard as they could imagine. The point is that I learn how to take control over myself. We cannot control other people, right? Therefore, controlling ourself will be a good thing to do before we control others. In fact, as Qur’an said, “every human is a leader, and every leader will have responsibility”. Isn’t that great?

______________

To my brothers, Robby and Rina, hope you grow better and better than I do.🙂

20 thoughts on “The Beauty I feel when I am being a Muslim (March 7, 2012)

  1. I was just looking for this info for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your website. I wonder what is the Google’s problem that does not rank this kind of informative commission commando bonus and commission commando review sites closer to the top. Usually the top web sites are full of garbage.

    • I am interested in making my website as the top rank website. All I want is that people could get something from what I write.
      Thanks for commenting on my post!🙂

  2. I like a lot of information in your article. I am looking forward to your new articles, they will definitely benefit a lot of newbies like myself! Great thanks!

  3. Salams Syayid. Great post! I am in the process of re-directing my blog: vivaislam.org in dedication to promoting Islamic Education. Working in the field itself and seeing that a greater emphasis is being placed upon secular education in the Muslim world instead of reforming Islamic Ed towards a holistic integrated approach, I have decided to turn my attention and that of other towards such an approach. Have a look at my blog some time and perhaps we can add each other on our blogrolls. I will keep an eye on your blog.
    WS
    Oh and sorry for my posting under the inappropriate post?

    • Salams back, Malick. Thanks for commenting on my post.
      Secularism happens due to the lack of understanding Islamic teachings as a whole, especially when this religion is viewed by people partially through limited set of mind and readings. I have read your blog but not all of your posts and it’s an interesting thing to know. A lot of websites talking about Islam are merely in the form theoretical understandings. Perspectives of someone who is a Muslim are rarely made public. The post that I wrote above was not that perfect. I think every Muslims feel the same way, except those who have never been in touch with the outside world (education). Yes, of course, you may add my blog into yours or you may comment in every post I wrote in this blog.

      WS
      No worries, that’s okay.🙂

  4. A big thanks for sharing this superb information. Your website is so cool. Im impressed by the info that you have on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. I bookmarked this site and will visit again for extra updates.

  5. I like your ideas. Of course i am satisfied being a Muslim. One of the core reason i considered is continuously spiritual guidance by the will of Allah Almighty and heart satisfaction may lead to sustain over it and it may cause to revive my faith.

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

