Fulbright: Attending Africa Night at SIUE

Africa Night by African Students at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, the United States

On February 25, 2012, I had a great opportunity to attend an event called as Africa Night. This event was professionally performed and organized by African Students who are studying at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, Edwardsville, the United States. After I attended this event, there was something that came across my mind, especially knowing what Africa is. Besides, of course, as I did in the same way with other people, I had some concept in my mind about Africa before I attended this event. I come to this event together with Ankur Patel, a graduate assistant and a graduate student at SIUE from India; Susanna Lu, the same with Ankur Patel but she came from China; Joyce and Dorris, the people who have great heart to deal with international students to have the host family program; and Majid Darvis and his friend who are from Iran. In this event, there were, of course, a lot of things that I have seen. Then, through this post, I would like to share what I had seen in the event. What I write in this post might be from my perspectives; however, if you want to add more points, please, do not hesitate to give your comments under this post.

What Africa Night is

This event, as you could see it from the picture above, is an event which was organized by African Students Association who are studying at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, Edwardsville, the United States of America. It was started at 06:00 pm in the Morris University Center of SIUE. I was so fortunate to come to this event on time (even earlier than that, that was at 05:30 pm) so that I could have the red carpet event session. This session was done by the committee as a way for them to respect guests who are coming earlier. Because my host family and I came earlier; therefore, we could reserve our table. Susanna Lu, Ankur Patel, Majid Darvis, Majid’s friend (I forget her name), Dorris, and Joyce were sitting together at the same table. At 06:00 pm, my host family, friends and I had a great time for dinner. There were salad, fried rice, chicken, and all other foods which are traditionally regarded as cuisine from Africa. It was indeed a precious time for me to attend this event. Well, overall, what it means with the name Africa Night is, in my perspective, an event for students from Africa to perform their cultures and unique things about Africa.

My impression after attending Africa Night

After I attend the Africa Night event, my impression was “oh, so, I thought I knew about Africa, but, in fact, what I knew was just a little”. From fifteen activities done in the event, there was a unique thing that I see from Africa. The session for this was entitled as “(My Love and Pride) The Africa they never show you”. I was literally impressed. I personally never went or travelled to Africa, but, after looking at the video; if I am rich, I would love to spend a couple of weeks in Africa. The message of this event would be informing people to know more about Africa. I am an Indonesian. I never know how Africa is. What people told me about Africa is that Africa is a place of so many forests and the people living in this place are staying in a very traditional house. In fact, I was wrong. Then, in this case, I could blame news that present about Africa. Why I only know bad stuffs about Africa? In this event, I saw another beauty of how God creates human. Therefore, a point that I want to write here is that Africa is beautiful.

My personal note:

Impression that we make based on what we hear from the news is always bias. However, when we make impression based on what we directly see, that will be another story. This event is indeed broadening my horizon as a student from Indonesia at SIUE – USA and, in particular, as a Fulbrighter who would try to get involved with activities of maintaining international peace and freedom.

 

5 thoughts on “Fulbright: Attending Africa Night at SIUE

  1. Pingback: Attending India Night 2012 in SIUE – “Sanskriti: One Nation Different Cultures” « The Silent Corner

  2. It was great occasion. The core purpose of this occasion to tell the people what is Africa and what they have. It has a lot natural beauty which is concern to watch. Our normal perception is not affecting to us for visit to Africa but it is more than this.

    • Yes, that’s true. We cannot merely depend on what we perceive of something as correct or wrong.
      There is something beyond perception. I think I would like to see what and how Africa is.
      Thanks for commenting on this post!

      ^_^

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

