“Silence of the Night” by Syayid

Silence of the Night

The time I feel now is the one that is the most silent one

I can’t sleep, even though,

I felt sleepy in my sight

I woke up and saw the watch laying lazily on my desk

Its click makes sound, tik tik tik…, as if it speaks to me saying,

“It is three and half in the morning. You should sleep…”

I whisper in my own solitude…

Do you know what I hear at this time?

Silence, a really, really moment of silence,

The sounds of the night speaks to my ear

Singing as if I am listening to the voices of thousands of fairies and angels in this dark-blue sky

And the stars that hide shyly in their wisdom

Far away over there, asking me to come to their place and dance with them

I look at the deer outside, eating the grass, in its peaceful smile,

But, I know I wake up for no reason

I do feel the crowd coming to my mind at this kind of time

Listening to the silence

Wiping all miserable words people say

Erasing all valueless of crowd, hypocrisies, money, and prestige

Friendship that is only superficial

Friendship that is only made through heart and pure care?

Silence has spoken all the truth

to me, in the way that I feel as if I am a holy man, but, no, am I not?

Silence speaks in the way, telling me

of all lies hiding in the trees

of all sounds of having-fun young men out there, spending the night with someone new everyday

And,

In this silence,

I whisper in the deepest wish

Beyond what I feel, I pray…

Please help, and make people I love, happy

for they are the place where my happiness is in

Please let the soul of everyone as in spring

for they are the lights when all-stars are in deem way

The world is chaotic,

but only love and sincere submission to Allah SWT,

make the silence as the songs of the fairies.

 

——- Syayid Sandi Sukandi

Edwardsville, the United States, 3:45 am, Sunday, Dec 4, 2011

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

