Fulbright: Halloween and the Pumpkin Time 2011

In my country, Indonesia, I never celebrate any Halloween things. What I did was just watching on TV and listened to news about how American people celebrate this event. Eversince I stay in the United States to pursue my Master’s degree in SIUE, I had a chance to meet my new host family, Joyce and John Schrader from International Hospitality Program. We went to the pumpkin field and carved our pumpkin. Indeed, it was a great time for me ever! We had joy, we had fun, and soon after that, I went home with a new perspective about Halloween as a part of American cultures. Anyway, I did not celebrate it in a full way, just for learning purposes.🙂

Jaouad Naji (Morocco), Jacob (USA), Ruth Sumule and I (Indonesia) were in the pumpkin field

 

Halloween creation by, from left to right, Jacob, Ruth, Me, and Jaouad Naji

 

Standing in front of the pumpkin, Me, Ruth, Jaouad, and Joyce from the IHP (Thanks, Joyce..!)

 

Finally, the Halloween 2011 is my first time to see the pumpkin and to see how people in the USA view Halloween.

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

