The bird and the farmer (a short story)

>The bird and the farmer

One day, a farmer walked down in a green grass with his horse. He saw a small bird pain in the ground. He took the bird and brought it home.

Years were passed and the bird became stronger and stronger. The daddy farmer was busy with his works and never care to the bird anymore.

The bird said, ‘Farmer, where are you? I am cold, I need you, sir. Don’t let me alone…’

The farmer did not say anything, only a slow sigh. The bird felt the she had been ignored and though that the farmer did not love her anymore like the first time.

Then, she decided to fly. Flying away to forget the farmer. The farmer was still busy. He did not have time even for a while for the bird.

In a far distance up to the sky, the bird shouted strongly, ‘Good bye, lovely farmer..! You are the beautiful man I have ever been with. Hope God loves you more than you love me…!’

The farmer saw the bird but he thought that it was not the bird he had. He then came inside to the house and saw the fact, it was the bird!

The farmer cried. Oh, my dear little bird. Why are you gone so fast?

No answer….
The farmer whispering and wandering…

‘I am gone because you don’t care to my these days…I am sorry…’

The farmer stopped his crying..

‘Dear little bird, was it the reason of why you leave me? Only because I need a moment to be with my own self?’, the farmer asked..

‘More than that. I know that you hate me..!, the bird said again.

‘But, I never hate you..!!’

The bird was flying high and high…

The horse, beside the cage, near to the birds’ nest, spoke out.

‘If that was the bird wants, then, it means she wants to have you all the time. She doesn’t love you…as her master..She wants you to be hers…’

The farmer saw the horse. ‘What do you mean?’

‘What I mean is that if she loves you, she knows what are the best for you, even it hurts her feeling and sacrifices her own self. Sometimes, you did that to me, too. Ignoring me. But, I know it was your right…If you love me, whenever and whatever situation happen, you will always come and be with me even you are not in my side…’

The farmer smiled.

‘Dear horse, I never think that you are as sweet as candy. Thanks..!’

Then, the farmer tries to forget the bird. He knows that the bird wants him to be her.

In a sad look, he said, ‘You are not my little dove anymore, you are an eagle. I know that you don’t need me any longer…Good bye…Thanks that you have been my great partner and friend. I realize now that all what I have given to you are nothing because what you need is me, not what I have done to you as your master…’

(Created by: Syayid)
What can you infer from the text, my dear fellows?

Comments or Feedback? Tanggapan Anda?

